The Chicago Home Luxury Chicago Real Estate

The Chicago Home

Prudential Rubloff


West Town

West Town located in Chicago, Illinois, northwest of the Loop, is one of 77 officially designated Chicago community areas. Its name may refer to Western Avenue, which was the city’s western boundary at the time of West Town’s settlement, but more likely was a convenient abstraction by the creators of Chicago’s community areas. Then, as now, West Town was a collection of several distinct neighborhoods including Wicker Park, Ukrainian Village, East Village, Smith Park, Noble Square and River West.

West Town residents are assigned to schools in the Chicago Public Schools. Comprehensive high schools located in the West Town community area include Roberto Clemente High School and Wells Community Academy High School. Option high schools include Noble Street Charter High School. Ukrainian village includes the private St. Nicholas Cathedral school and St. Helen School, which offers Catholic education from pre-kindergarten to eighth grade.






Front_View of 1315 Bosworth

Filed under : Chicago Neighborhoods